Blunt truths

A knife recoiled from the blunt truth.

It could not cut at its sharp edges,

That poked fun at all the grudges,

That I could ever hold.

 

Poked fun and reminded me,

Of all that I could never be,

And all that I had yet to escape,

And everything beneath the draped.

 

Lift it I must, yet never show,

To anyone else, lest it glow,

In a different light than the one I knew,

Or any different hue.

 

My lips were sewn together by the spell,

Of that blunt truth that fell,

With hard blows upon my heart.

Scars those have left –that still smart.

Leave a Reply

