Ammi

No matter the wreckage, my mother’s always there,

With warm milk and a dollop of sweet honey to soothe my bruised heart,

And I get scared every day that she cures me –

Will she leave me helpless with a mouthful of forevers?

_______________________

The above four-line poem was my submission for a contest held by Spoken Stage (https://www.facebook.com/spokenstage/?fref=ts). I was among the three winners. The phrases in italics are taken from the titles of anthologies that were distributed as prizes:

No Matter The Wreckage by Sarah Kay

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

A Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Radics

Leave a Reply

